We are the voice in your ear at large international conferences, where our simultaneous rendering of the presentation by a speaker from abroad will allow you to follow his talk in your mother tongue – in real time.


We do not upstage, but effectively assist you when you are welcoming a delegation from abroad in the language demanded by protocol.  We will render your speech into the language of your guests in digestible portions without the need for technical equipment. This is called consecutive interpreting. It is made possible by a sophisticated note-taking technique that allows us to capture and smoothly reproduce even complex subjects.


A half-way solution where technical requirements are minimal is the use of a so-called chuchotage (whispering) set comprising a cordless microphone plus headphones. This is a practical way of providing simultaneous interpretation for relatively small groups of people.


Additional services

Apart from these three types of oral translation, we are happy to perform written translations, particularly in connection with conferences.

We also do voice-overs and other recordings.


Our main working languages are German, English and Danish, but we also offer French and Spanish. If additional languages are needed for a particular conference or event, we can draw on a highly efficient personalised network of professional colleagues, most of whom are members of the International Association of Conference Interpreters (aiic).

This is how we see ourselves


* Note on gender mainstreaming: For better legibility this text uses the male grammatical form throughout.
The authors wish to point out that male pronouns should be understood to cover both sexes. They had better: more
than two thirds of professional interpreters are female.


language matters ... so do faces

Born in Stuttgart in 1979

Studies in Edinburgh and Montreal

Graduated from the Heidelberg University Institute of Translation and Interpreting

Member of the International Association of Conference Interpreters (aiic)

Born (1958) and brought up in beautiful Hamburg

Education (primary/secondary school and uni) in Hamburg

Assistant Teacher in Northern England

EU Conference Interpreter Course at the Copenhagen Business School and member of aiic

Masters of Many Trades

The examples below illustrate the range of subjects Johannes Weber and Niels Hamdorf have covered since 1990.

As the inquisitive academic mind gets into a new subject it will invariably ignite and be fascinated by it: For the keen learner, there simply is no such thing as a boring subject. The conscientious interpreter spends more time preparing for his next assignment than during the actual event. He will catch the bug and often continue researching the subject at hand beyond what is strictly required. Chances are this will enrich and change his view of the world, and his insights will benefit his customer.

The world of languages and jargons is as diverse as that of biological species. The more of them we use actively and thereby help to preserve, the more colourful the world we live in will be. Language matters

District court proceedings dealing with traffic accidents; depositions by American attorneys in Germany; and international arbitration proceedings;

A symposium on the Arts and the Law, the International Sports Law Conference at the Bucerius Law School in Hamburg; the cross-examination by the investigating magistrate of a drug dealer apprehended in the port of Hamburg; and the German British Forum, organised by the British Chamber of Commerce in Germany;

The official visit by the President of the European Parliament to Denmark; the final round of negotiations between Denmark and Germany leading to the signing of the State Treaty on the Construction of a Fixed Link across the Fehmarnbelt; and the visit by a delegation of MP’s from the New Zealand Parliament to the Constitutional Court in Hamburg;

The general meeting in Berlin of the first German car builder, with almost ten thousand shareholders; test driving 18-ton lorries in Eastern Frisia; and training workshops for mechanics in Swabia;

The visit by a Hong Kong delegation to Hamburg to meet their counterparts at the city’s local transport network operator including test driving a tube train; negotiations with the Federal Rail Authority; and logistics conferences on multimodal transport;

The world’s leading International Shipbuilding, Machinery & Marine Technology Trade Fair; conventions on the cruise industry and the standardisation work of European inland navigation players and regulators;

The International Air and Space Exhibition; a hearing at the Kiel Regional Parliament on data protection in the context of the modern social media; and government consultations at the level of various federal ministries;

The leading pipe construction exhibition and conference; the name-giving ceremony of jacking vessels for off-shore wind farms and the production facilities for the tunnel elements for the Fixed Link over the Fehmarnbelt;

CeBIT, the world’s largest computer fair; the EuroTier exhibition in Hanover; and the Hamburg Offshore-Wind;

The international Congress of Psycho-Oncology; a World Congress on Music Therapy; and a dream journey guided by a futurologist;

Celebrating the 350th anniversary of the Peace of Westphalia treaties in Münster; an international meeting on military history; and a reconciliation conference for the former Yugoslavia;

Going down a coal mine in Germany’s Ruhrgebiet; flying to a security conference on the island of Heligoland in a helicopter of the Federal Border Police; and a joint dinner of MEP’s and a Russian delegation on an ice breaker vessel in the port of Murmansk;

Internal deliberations of several of Germany’s largest banks; road shows by investment funds which manage billions of dollars; and gala dinners held by leading audit companies;

A tour of German abattoirs accompanying European Commission inspectors; food safety audits carried out by European authorities; and group and committee meetings at the European Parliament in Brussels and Strasburg;

A live TV-interview with the American ambassador on a primetime German news broadcast; a series of talks between the former Federal Chancellor and several elder statesmen held at the official residence of the Senate of the Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg; and the press conference at the launch of the German version of the BBC production “The Teletubbies”;

A European Works Council meeting in the middle of nowhere in Sweden; town hall meetings at global agricultural feed stock traders; and the quarterly news bulletins of one of the giants of the chemical industry in the company TV channel;

“The undead” - an artistic approach to zombies on the Kampnagel theatre and performance premises in Hamburg; an informal talk with a New York City Christofer-Street-Day veteran in Hamburg’s red light district; and the crochet and non-Euclidian geometry workshop on a North Sea island;

Accompanying a European Parliament delegation to the North Cape; a two-day conference cruise in the Adriatic Sea with the franchisees of a large systems caterer; and a gala banquet in the Emperor’s Hall of Hamburg’ City Hall;

Street marking vehicles and electrical insulating varnishes produced by companies around Hamburg; and formulations for the food industry which a company in Schleswig-Holstein exports to numerous countries throughout the world;


Roughly two thirds of our clients are private businesses. They are very focused on “value for money”: They will avail themselves of our services as professional interpreters when it simply is not enough to be fluent in the respective languages, e.g. at the annual general meetings of plc’s, at town hall staff meetings, when a representative of the management who does not speak German makes a presentation to employees, when negotiating with foreign investors, at European Works Council and economic committee meetings, during investment fund road shows, at supervisory board meetings, press conferences on the annual financial statements, TV interviews, in the course of plan approval applications and on many other occasions which require the expertise of Babel virtuosi.


Johannes Weber

Phone: +49 (0)40 22821160
Mobile: + 49 (0)172 69 040 44

Niels Hamdorf

Phone: +49 (0)40 4904807
Mobile: +49 (0)171 3520910


Bötelkamp 31
D-22529 Hamburg

Simultan

Wir sind die Stimme im Ohr, die es Ihren Konferenzteilnehmern ermöglicht, den Ausführungen des englischsprachigen Vortragenden zur Zukunft der IT in Ihrer Muttersprache zu lauschen – in Echtzeit, also simultan.

Konsekutiv

Wir sind diskret aber wirkungsvoll an Ihrer Seite, wenn Sie die Delegation Ihrer ausländischen Partnerstadt beim Abendempfang auf deutsch willkommen heißen - wie protokollarisch oft vorgeschrieben. Zeitversetzt und in gut verdaulichen Abschnitten übertragen wir Ihre Rede konsekutiv in die Sprache Ihrer Gäste. Dank unserer Notations- und Präsentationstechnik geht dies ohne inhaltliche und rhetorische Verluste.

Flüsterdolmetschen

Eine Zwischenlösung mit minimalem technischen Aufwand ist das Flüsterdolmetschen. Hierfür benutzt man eine sogenannte Personenführungsanlage, mit der die Simultanverdolmet­schung für eine begrenzte Anzahl von fremdsprachigen Teilnehmern drahtlos übertragen wird.

divider

Weitere Leistungen

Wir übernehmen darüber hinaus gern schriftliche Übersetzungsarbeiten – gerade auch von Sitzungsunterlagen – sowie voice-overs und andere Sprechertätigkeiten.

Netzwerk

Unsere Hauptarbeitssprachen sind Deutsch, Englisch und Dänisch, wir bieten aber auch Französisch und Spanisch an. Sollten bei Ihrer Veranstaltung weitere Sprachkombinationen gefordert sein, können wir dank unseres weitgespannten Kollegennetzwerks Teams mit professionellen Konferenzdolmetschern zusammenstellen. Diese sind mehrheitlich Mitglieder im Internationalen Verband der Konferenzdolmetscher (aiic) und wir kennen die Kollegen in den meisten Fällen persönlich.

Aller guten Dinge sind drei – Unser Selbstverständnis

 

* Anmerkung im Sinne des Gender Mainstreaming: Selbstverständlich sind mit den männlichen Nomina agentis hier gleichzeitig die weiblichen Kolleginnen gemeint: Sie stellen übrigens ca. 70% aller professionellen Dolmetscher.

divider

language matters zeigt Gesicht

1979 geboren bei Stuttgart

Studienaufenthalte in Edinburgh, Schottland und Montreal, Kanada

Abschluss zum Diplom-Dolmetscher am Institut für Übersetzen und Dolmetschen (IÜD) der Uni Heidelberg

Mitglied im Internationalen Verband der Konferenzdolmetscher aiic

1958 geboren im schönen Hamburg

Schule und Uni (Staatsexamen) in Hamburg

Lehrtätigkeit im Norden Großbritanniens

Ausbildung zum EU-Konferenzdolmetscher an der
Copenhagen Business School und aiic-Mitglied

Masters of Many Trades

Im Folgenden eine Auswahl an Themen, mit denen Johannes Weber und Niels Hamdorf sich seit 1990 beschäftigt haben. Für den intellektuell Interessierten zeigt sich in der Auseinandersetzung mit unterschiedlichen Fachgebieten: Wenn man sich gewissenhaft und mit Begeisterungsfähigkeit daran macht, ist jedes Thema interessant, bietet faszinierende Einblicke und man erkennt bei der Beschäftigung damit Zusammenhänge, die das Leben verändern. Die Vielfalt der Sprachregister und Fachjargons ist so reich wie die biologische Artenvielfalt und die Welt schillert umso bunter, je mehr davon wir aktiv pflegen. Language matters

Von der Amtsgerichtsverhandlung in Verkehrssachen über Depositions (außergerichtliche Zeugenvernehmungen) durch amerikanische Anwälte in Deutschland bis zu internationalen Schiedsgerichtsverhandlungen;

Vom Kunstrecht-Symposium und der International Sports Law Conference an der Bucerius Law School in Hamburg über die Vernehmung von Drogenschmugglern aus dem Hamburger Hafen durch den Untersuchungsrichter bis zum German British Forum, veranstaltet von der British Chamber of Commerce in Germany;

Vom Antrittsbesuch des EU-Parlamentspräsidenten in Dänemark über die abschließenden Verhandlungen zum deutsch-dänischen Staatsvertrag zum Bau einer festen Fehmarnbelt-Querung bis zum Besuch einer neuseeländischen Parlamentsdelegation beim Hamburgischen Verfassungsgericht;

Von der HV des ältesten deutschen Autobauers mit zehntausend Aktionären in Berlin über Testfahrten mit 18-Tonnern in Ostfriesland bis zum Training-Workshop für Kfz-Mechaniker im Ländle;

Vom Besuch einer Hongkonger Delegation bei der Hamburger Hochbahn mit Selbstfahrertest über Verhandlungen mit dem Eisenbahnbundesamt bis zu Logistikkonferenzen über den multimodalen Verkehr;

Von der weltgrößten Messe für Schiffbau und Schiffszulieferer über Kongresse der Kreuzfahrtbranche bis zur Normierungsarbeit bei den europäischen Binnenschiffern;

Von der Internationalen Luft- und Raumfahrtausstellung über eine Anhörung im Kieler Landtag zu Datenrechtsfragen im Zusammenhang mit den sozialen Medien bis zu Regierungskonsultationen auf Bundesministerebene;

Von der Leitmesse des Rohrleitungsbaus über die Taufe von Errichterschiffen für Offshore- Windparks bis zur Tunnelelemente-Fertigung für die Feste Fehmarnbelt-Querung;

Von der CeBIT über die Euro-Tier-Messe in Hannover bis zur Hamburger Offshore-Wind;

Vom International Congress of Psycho-Oncology über den Weltkongress Musiktherapie bis zu Traumreisen mit einem Zukunftsforscher;

Vom 350. Jahrestag des Westfälischen Friedens in Münster über eine internationale Tagung zur Militärgeschichte bis zur Konferenz über den Aussöhnungsprozess im ehemaligen Jugoslawien;

Vom Einfahren in ein Kohlebergwerk in Sprockhövel über den Flug mit dem Bundesgrenzschutz-Hubschrauber zur Sicherheitskonferenz auf Helgoland bis zum Mittagessen auf einem russischen Eisbrecher in Murmansk;

Von den Betriebsinterna deutscher Großbanken über Anleger-Roadshows milliardenschwerer Investmentfonds bis zu Gesellschafts-Galas führender Wirtschaftsprüfungsunternehmen;

Von der Inspektion deutscher Schlachthöfe durch die EU-Kommission über Food Safety Audits bis zu Fraktions- und Ausschusssitzungen des Europäischen Parlaments;

Vom live-Interview mit dem amerikanischen Botschafter in den ARD-tagesthemen über Gespräche des deutschen Altkanzlers mit anderen Elder Statesmen im Gästehaus des Hamburger Senats bis zur Pressekonferenz bei Vorstellung der deutschen Fassung der BBC-Produktion „Teletubbies“;

Von der Europäischen Betriebsratssitzung in der schwedischen Einöde über Betriebsversammlungen („town hall meetings“) bei global tätigen Agrarrohstoffunternehmen bis zu den Quartalsberichten eines Chemie-Giganten im werkseigenen TV;

Von den „Untoten“ – einer künstlerischen Auseinandersetzung mit Zombies auf Kampnagel in Hamburg über das Gespräch mit New Yorker Christopher-Street-Day-Veteranen im Rotlichtmilieu –bis zum Korallenhäkeln in nicht-euklidischen Räumen;

Von der Delegationsreise des Europäischen Parlaments an das Nordkap über eine zweitägige Konferenz-Kreuzfahrt mit den Franchisenehmern eines großen Caterers in der Adria bis zum Festbankett im Kaisersaal des Hamburger Rathauses;

Von Straßenmarkierungsfahrzeugen über Elektro-Isolierlacke und -systemeaus der Umgebung von Hamburg bis zu Zubereitungen für die Lebensmittelindustrie, die ein Traditionsunternehmen in Schleswig-Holstein in alle Welt exportiert;

divider

Rund zwei Drittel unserer Auftraggeber sind Wirtschaftsunternehmen. Sie achten sehr genau auf den „value for money“ und bedienen sich gern unserer Fachkompetenz, wenn fließendes Englisch allein nicht ausreicht, z.B. bei Hauptversammlungen von AGs, bei Betriebsversammlungen, bei denen ein fremdsprachiger Managementvertreter zur gesamten Belegschaft spricht, bei Verhandlungen mit ausländischen Investoren, bei Eurobetriebsratssitzungen und in Wirtschaftsausschüssen, bei Roadshows von Investmentfonds, Aufsichtsratssitzungen, Bilanzpressekonferenzen,  TV-Interviews, Planfeststellungsverfahren und bei vielen anderen Gelegenheiten, in denen die Babel-Experten gebraucht werden.

Auf ein Wort … oder mehr

Johannes Weber

Tel: +49 (0)40 22821160
Mobil: + 49 (0)172 69 040 44
info@johannesweber.net

Niels Hamdorf

Tel: +49 (0)40 4904807
Mobil: +49 (0)171 3520910
hamdorf@t-online.de

Anschrift

Bötelkamp 31
D-22529 Hamburg
www.language-matters.de